Biography of Vincent Van Gogh

Vincent Van Gogh was born on March 30, 1853, in Groot Zundert, North Brabant, Netherlands. From childhood, he showed signs of a moody and agitated temperament that would torment his projects throughout his entire life. Son of a Protestant pastor, he first chose to orient his life towards Protestantism, becoming a preacher in London, a student of theology and an evangelizer among the mining populations of Borinage. Becoming sympathetic to the miners’ struggle, Van Gogh practiced painting, leaving us the first traces of a somber style; one certainly marked by the misery of the miners, but one to which he also attached a sense of urgency and intensity.

In 1886, he moved to Paris and lived with his brother Theo, who ran a small gallery of paintings. He quickly became acquainted with the young painters of the era, who were at the forefront of the most innovative artistic movements. Influenced by the work of the impressionists, as well as Japanese artists, Van Gogh’s style began to evolve. His colours brightened and his brushstrokes refined according to the shapes of the objects he represented. Beginning in 1888, he adopted the frank and bright hues present in the paintings of his French contemporaries before leaving Paris for the south of France.

Under the sun of Provence, he painted landscapes and scenes of southern life. The artist, then based in Arles, began using curved and swirling brushstrokes, as well as pure colours, particularly yellow, green and blue. This technique, very specific to Van Gogh’s work, appears in his famous paintings Bedroom in Arles (1888) and The Starry Night (1889). Any visible creation by Van Gogh from this period, whether painted or drawn, is seemingly bestowed with a physical and spiritual vitality. In this spirit of enthusiasm, he persuaded Paul Gauguin, an artist whom he had met in Paris, to come stay with him.

After less than two months of working together, their relationship deteriorated rapidly, culminating in the famous dispute in which Van Gogh threatened Gaugin with a razor blade. That same night, Van Gogh completely severed his own ear. A few months later, he voluntarily entered the asylum of Saint Rémy de Provence, where he painted fiercely. A great number of his masterpieces were created during this period.

In May 1890, the artist left the south and returned to his brother Theo in Paris. He took up residence close by in Auvers-sur-Oise, near the house of Dr. Gachet, an admirer and patron of several impressionist painters, as well as the subject of one of his portraits. The artist worked arduously in Auvers before passing away on July 29, 1890, leaving behind an artistic legacy that is today recognized around the globe.

Imagine Van Gogh highlights the works of Vincent Van Gogh from his Arles period (1888-1889) to the end of his life in 1890. These were exceptional years for the master, showcasing his talent, as well as his torments, in iconic works such as Sunflowers, Irises, Wheatfield with Crows, The Starry Night, in addition to his Japanese influences with the magnificent Almond Blossoms or his later The Church at Auvers. It also incorporates the many portraits painted during this period, including his Self-Portraits,Portrait of Dr. Gachet, La Mousmé, Portrait of the Postman Joseph Roulin and L’Arlésienne :Madame Ginoux. Altogether, an incredible number of Van Gogh’s masterpieces will be revealed to visitors from a completely new perspective.

Biographie de Vincent Van Gogh

Vincent Van Gogh naît le 30 mars 1853 à Groot Zundert, dans le Brabant septentrional. Dès l’enfance, il fait preuve d’un tempérament lunatique et agité qui, tout au long de sa vie, contrarie ses projets. Fils d’un pasteur protestant, il choisit dans un premier temps d’orienter sa vie vers le protestantisme devenant tour à tour prédicateur à Londres, étudiant en théologie et évangélisateur auprès des populations minières du Borinage. À l’écoute de ces dernières, il s’exerce à la peinture, nous laissant les premières traces d’un travail sombre, empreint de la misère de ces mineurs certes, mais auquel Van Gogh attache une ferveur et une exaltation exacerbée.

En 1886, il s’installe à Paris et y vit avec son frère Théo qui dirige une petite galerie de tableaux. Il fait rapidement connaissance des jeunes peintres qui animent les mouvements artistiques les plus innovants. Influencé par l’oeuvre des impressionnistes et par celui des artistes japonais, le style de Van Gogh se met à évoluer. Les couleurs s’éclaircirent, les touches de pinceau s’affinent en suivant la forme de l’objet représenté. Dès 1888, il adopte des teintes franches et brillantes, présentes dans les tableaux de ses amis français et quitte Paris pour le sud de la France.

Sous le soleil de Provence, il peint des paysages et des scènes de vie méridionales. L’artiste, installé à Arles, commence à employer des touches courbes, tourbillonnantes et des couleurs pures : le jaune, le vert et le bleu en particulier. Cette technique, si spécifique au travail de Van Gogh, apparaît dans les célèbres toiles représentant sa chambre à coucher (1888), et La Nuit étoilée (1889). Tout phénomène visible, peint ou dessiné par Van Gogh, semble être doté d’une vitalité physique et spirituelle. Dans son enthousiasme, il persuade Paul Gauguin, qu’il a rencontré à Paris, de le rejoindre.

Après moins de deux mois de travail en commun, leur relation se détériore gravement et s’achève dans une dispute célèbre au cours de laquelle Van Gogh menace Gauguin avec une lame de rasoir. La même nuit, Van Gogh se tranche l’oreille. Quelques mois plus tard, il entre de plein gré à l’asile de Saint-Rémy-de-Provence où il peint avec acharnement. De cette période date un grand nombre de chefs-d’oeuvre.

En mai 1890, l’artiste quitte le Midi et rejoint son frère Théo à Paris. Il s’installe non loin de là, à Auvers-sur-Oise, près de la maison du docteur Gachet qui admire et soutient déjà plusieurs peintres impressionnistes et dont Van Gogh fait le portrait. L’artiste travaille à Auvers avec ardeur et y meurt le 29 juillet 1890, nous laissant un patrimoine artistique reconnu, aujourd’hui, dans le monde entier.

L’exposition Imagine Van Gogh met en lumière les oeuvres de Vincent Van Gogh de sa période arlésienne (1888-1889) à la fin de sa vie (1890). Années exceptionnelles qui soulignent le talent et les tourments du maître dans des oeuvres emblématiques telles que : Les Tournesols, Les Iris, Champ de blé avec corbeaux, La Nuit étoilée, mais aussi sa période japoniste avec les célèbres branches fleuries d’amandier ou plus tard L’Église d’Auvers-sur-Oise, sans oublier sa série de portraits réalisés à cette période, tels que ses autoportraits ou le portrait du docteur Gachet, la Mousmé, Joseph Roulin ou Mme Ginoux. De nombreux chefs-d’oeuvre qui se dévoilent aux visiteurs sous un nouveau regard.